Academic Bowl

2016-17 team wins nationwide online competition

Nationals - Chicago Tournament

Congratulations to Jack Powell, Gabe Bingham, Mitchell McKinstry, Captain Wyatt Evans (who was named the Chicago Tournament MVP, Devin Raine, Joseph Mellor for winning the Chicago leg of the national tournament and placing 3rd in the nation overall.


First Round - BK beat St. John's (MA) 345-265.

Semi-finals - BK beat Gehlen Catholic (IA) 380-215.

Finals - BK beats Henderson (KY) 300-235.

BK wins the Chicago leg of the National Academic Bowl championship!

BK then competed against the champions of the New Orleans and Washington, D.C., brackets (completed their brackts in late May).  BK finished 3rd in the nation

BK's team captain, Wyatt Evans, was named the tournament's most valuable player.  Coach Medea Bendel stated "I am unbelievably proud of them."

See the article from the Tulsa World - Bishop Kelley places third in national academic bowl competition



Of 32 teams advancing to Day 3, 4 teams (including BK) went 6-0 and Bishop Kelley is seeded #1.

Game 6 - BK beats University HS (IN) 355-200.

Game 5 - BK beats Madison (MS) 235-190.

Game 4 - BK beats John Cooper (TX) 460-40

Game 3 - BK beats Bemedji (MN) 370-160.

Game 2 - BK beats Lakewood (OH) 260-255 (Sudden Death Question - OT).

Game 1 - BK beats Morley Stanwood (MI) 360-165.

6-4-2015 - BK Academic Bowl team headed to Nationals.


4-9-2015 - Congratulations to Wyatt Evans who was selected for the Academic Bowl All-State!

2-11-2015 - BK is mentioned in the Tulsa World.

2-9-2015 - Congratulations to BK Academic Bowl for winning the 5A State Championship and are now on their way to Nationals. This was the second State Championship in a row and the third in four years. Way to Go Comets! Congratulations to Captain Wyatt Evans, Devin Raine, Gabe Bingham, Joseph Mellor, Mitchell McKinstry, Jack Powell, Coach Medea Bendel, and Coach Michael Blazek.

1-26-2015 - With their performnce at Area competition, BK Academic Bowl is heading to State competition on February 7th as the #1 seed. 

12-02-2014 - Academic Bowl team are the EOAC Conference Champions for the 2nd year in a row.

12-01-2014 - Academic Bowl will host Sundaes with Santa in the BK Commons from 2:00 - 4:00 pm. on Sunday, December 7, 2014.  Children of all ages are invited to BK to enjoy an ice cream sundae and take pictures with Santa!  Join us on campus for games, prizes, and a kickoff to the holiday season.  Donations will be accepted at the door to benefit the BK Academic Bowl team.  Sundaes will be served in the BK Commons, formerly the Library, in the center of the main academic building.

2014-2015 - Academic Bowl - Varsity, Junior Varsity & Novice - Schedule & Results


State Champion (9) 1993, 1995, 1998, 2005, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
State Runner-Up (5) 1996, 1997, 2002, 2006, 2007
Area Champion (10) 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
AREA RUNNER-UP (5) 2000, 2001, 2003, 2009, 2010


Current historical records for Bishop Kelley Academic Bowl date back to 1993.    

A team can qualify for Nationals in several ways:

1) A team can win the State Championship;

2) A team can win a qualifying tournament, such as the Oklahoma Quiz Bowl Alliance;

3) A team could garner enough points to be invited to Nationals.



 2013 Academic Bowl team                               2012 Academic Bowl team


2015 Champion Champion

Chicago Tourn Champion

Nationals - 3rd Place

2014 Champion  Champion
2013 Champion 4th Place  
2012 Champion Champion Participant
2011 Champion 3rd Place  
2010 Runner-up 4th Place  
2009 Runner-up 4th Place  
2007 Champion Runner-up  
2006 Champion Runner-up  
2005 Champion Champion  
2004 Champion    
2003 Runner-up    
2002 Champion Runner-up  
2001 Runner-up    
2000 Runner-up    
1998    Champion  
1997    Runner-up  
1996    Runner-up  
1995    Champion  
1993    Champion  




























2014-2015 Wyatt Evans
2013-2014 Peter Simmons
2011-2012 David O'Connor
2010-2011 Joey Copp
2008-2009 Brennan Fox, Julie Hoang
2007-2008 David Cox, Darwin Roman
2006-2007 Cory Wilson, Patrick Gugliuzza
2005-2006 Garrett Atherton
2004-2005 Kevin O'Connor, David Reinecke
2001-2002 Philip d'Aquin
2000-2001 Veeral Ajmera, Tyler Miller
Jason D'Souza
1993-1994 Jim Hogan
1992-1993 Houston Mount

















Academic Bowl competition at Bishop Kelley began in 1993 and remains very active. Sponsored by the Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association (OSSAA), Academic Bowl involves four-member teams who compete at the state and local levels beginning in September/October and ending in February. To provide competition for students of differing experience levels, Bishop Kelley belongs to the 10-team Eastern Oklahoma Academic Conference (EOAC), which competes from October through January. Competition requires knowledge and quick recall. Any student may try out. For information, contact Coaches Medea Bendel and Michael Blazek.