Three Students Named National Merit Finalists

Three Bishop Kelley seniors have been named National Merit Finalists.
Emma Thomas
Ryan Godfrey
and Angela Brown
Six additional students were recognized as Commended Scholars (standing, left to right):
Miriam Hanisch
Isabella Turner
Garrett Alexander
Anna Williams
Megan Ames
and Remmi Smith
"The National Merit recognition program is an affirmation of the academic excellence these students exhibit," said Principal Jim Franz of these nine students. "National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars represent an intellectual gift to this school, the Eastern Oklahoma community and to the country as a whole. We are very proud of them all."
Academics at Bishop Kelley continue to be strong as a whole. The Class of 2017 achieved an average ACT score of 25.1, the highest in the school's history. This score has steadily grown over the past few years.
Approximately 1.5 million Juniors take the PSAT/NMSQT every year. The top 3.3% are recognized as Commended Scholars, while only the top 1.25% qualify as Semifinalists. Bishop Kelley has had 47 Semifinalists in the last six years. In 2017, all nine BK National Merit Finalists received scholarships.